버젼 컨트롤 시스템(Version Control System) 사용 중, 파일이나 폴더의 이름이나 위치를 바꿀 때 주의 사항

버젼 컨트롤 시스템 사용 시 주의할 점이 여러 가지가 있습니다. 그 중 하나는 파일이나 폴더의 이름이나 위치를 바꿀 때, 버젼 컨트롤 시스템의 기능을 이용해야 한다는 것입니다. 왜냐하면, 버젼 컨트롤 시스템의 기능을 사용하지 않고 파일이나 폴더의 이름이나 위치를 바꾸면, 그 파일이나 폴더의 이력은 사라지기 때문입니다.

Perforce Public Knowledge Base – Working Disconnected From The Perforce Server에서 인용한 아래 글을 보면, 왜 파일 이름 변경을 버젼 컨트롤 시스템으로 해야 하는지 알 수 있습니다.

Renaming files offline is not recommended because there is no direct way for Perforce to detect if a file was renamed or simply deleted. The rename operation in Perforce is a two step process: an integrate followed by a delete. If you did rename a file offline, then Step #1 in the command line example above detects the renamed file as a newly added file, and Step #2 detects the old renamed file as a deleted file and opens the old file name for delete. For files renamed offline, the delete operation in Step #2 is correct, but the add operation in Step #1 is not. Instead of adding the renamed files (as in Step #1), the proper thing to do with such files is to branch the old file name into the new file name. Although adding the renamed file as a new file does work, using the integrate operation is better because it creates a link between the old and new file names that preserves the change history across the rename.

참고로, TortoiseSVN은 버젼 컨트롤 시스템을 이용하지 않고 파일이나 폴더의 이름이나 위치를 바꾼 것을 바로잡을 수 있습니다. 그 방법은 TortoiseSVN – Repair moves/renames를 보시면 됩니다.

Advertisements

답글 남기기

아래 항목을 채우거나 오른쪽 아이콘 중 하나를 클릭하여 로그 인 하세요:

WordPress.com 로고

WordPress.com의 계정을 사용하여 댓글을 남깁니다. 로그아웃 / 변경 )

Twitter 사진

Twitter의 계정을 사용하여 댓글을 남깁니다. 로그아웃 / 변경 )

Facebook 사진

Facebook의 계정을 사용하여 댓글을 남깁니다. 로그아웃 / 변경 )

Google+ photo

Google+의 계정을 사용하여 댓글을 남깁니다. 로그아웃 / 변경 )

%s에 연결하는 중